Employee Achievement Award Tax Rules 2026: The $1,600 Limit Explained
Under IRC Section 274(j), an employer can give a tax-free length-of-service or safety achievement award worth up to $400 a year, or up to $1,600 a year under a written, nondiscriminatory qualified plan where the average award cost does not exceed $400, per IRS Publication 15-B for 2026. The award must be tangible personal property. Cash, gift cards, gift certificates, vacations, meals, and tickets never qualify at any dollar amount, since the IRS treats them as cash equivalents under both Section 274(j) and the Section 132(a)(4) de minimis fringe benefit rules. A qualifying award is excluded from federal income tax, Social Security tax, Medicare tax, and FUTA, and is not reported anywhere on Form W-2, a stronger exclusion than employer adoption assistance under IRC Section 137. A length-of-service award cannot be given in an employee's first 5 years or more than once every 5 years, and a safety achievement award is limited to full-time, non-management employees with a 10% annual eligibility cap.
- The employer achievement award limit stays at $400 a year without a written plan, or $1,600 a year under a written, nondiscriminatory qualified plan, under IRC Section 274(j) and IRS Publication 15-B for 2026.
- A qualifying achievement award is excluded from federal income tax, Social Security tax, Medicare tax, and FUTA, and is not reported anywhere on Form W-2, a stronger exclusion than the adoption assistance benefit under IRC Section 137, which stays fully in the FICA wage base.
- Gift cards, gift certificates, and cash never qualify as tax-free achievement awards at any dollar amount, since the IRS treats them as cash equivalents under both Section 274(j) and the de minimis fringe benefit rules of Section 132(a)(4).
- A length-of-service award cannot go to an employee in their first 5 years on the job, and cannot repeat more often than once every 5 years, under Treasury Regulation Section 1.274-8.
- A safety achievement award loses its tax-free status for the entire eligible category once an employer has already given safety awards to more than 10% of eligible employees in that tax year.
A 45-person distribution center in Reno, Nevada hands a forklift operator a $1,200 engraved watch this month for 10 years of service, structured under a written plan Benecor helped the company build. Because it is tangible personal property under IRC Section 274(j), not cash, the $1,200 comes off the employee's federal income tax bill and never touches Social Security or Medicare wages either, the same zero-FICA result the company's Section 125 medical elections deliver every payroll period. A year earlier, before Benecor reviewed the program, the same milestone triggered a $100 gift card, structured as fully taxable wages that cost the employer 7.65% in FICA on top of full income tax withholding. Here is exactly how the 2026 employee achievement award rules work, why the tangible-property requirement is not optional, and how to avoid the gift card trap that turns a feel-good recognition line item into an unbudgeted payroll tax bill.
What is an employee achievement award under the tax code?
An employee achievement award is a narrow category defined in Internal Revenue Code Section 274(j): tangible personal property given to an employee for length-of-service achievement or safety achievement, presented as part of a meaningful presentation, and given under circumstances that do not look like disguised pay. The item has to be physical, such as a watch, luggage, electronics, or an engraved plaque with a token of value attached. It cannot be money or anything that functions like money. This definition is the gate every other rule in this article sits behind. An item that fails it is not a tax-free achievement award at all, no matter how small the value is or what the employer calls it on the invoice.
How much can an employer give tax-free for an achievement award in 2026?
An employer can exclude up to $400 a year per employee in qualifying achievement awards if the award is not part of a written plan. That limit rises to $1,600 a year per employee if the award is given under a written, nondiscriminatory qualified plan, meaning a formal program that does not favor highly compensated employees and where the average cost of all awards given under the plan during the year does not exceed $400. An employer cannot deduct, and an employee cannot exclude, more than $1,600 total per employee for all achievement awards combined in a single year, even if a length-of-service award and a safety award are both given in the same year, per IRS Publication 15-B.
| Award type | Annual limit per employee | Key requirement |
|---|---|---|
| Award without a written plan | $400 | Tangible personal property only |
| Award under a written, nondiscriminatory qualified plan | $1,600 | Average cost of all awards under the plan cannot exceed $400 |
| Length-of-service and safety awards, same employee, same year | $1,600 combined | Combined cap applies even when both award types are given |
Does the $1,600 cap also limit what the employer can deduct?
Yes, and this is where employers most often overspend without realizing it. Internal Revenue Code Section 274(b)(1) ties the employer's business deduction to the same $400 or $1,600 ceiling that governs the employee's exclusion, so a company cannot simply write a bigger check and still deduct the whole thing as an achievement award. An employer that spends $2,200 on a single retirement gift can only deduct $1,600 of it under Section 274(j), even with a written qualified plan in place. The remaining $600 is not lost entirely, since it can usually still be deducted as ordinary compensation expense, but it becomes taxable wages to the employee rather than a tax-free award. This is a separate limit from the safety award 10% eligibility cap, and an employer needs to track both at once, the per-employee dollar ceiling and the plan-wide participation ceiling, to keep every award inside the exclusion.
Why must the award be tangible personal property?
Congress wrote Section 274(j) to reward genuine recognition, not to create a second untaxed payroll channel, so the exclusion only reaches items an employee can physically hold and keep, like a watch, a piece of luggage, electronics, or a plaque with a token of value attached. Cash, cash equivalents, vacations, meals, lodging, theater or sporting event tickets, and securities such as stocks or bonds are all excluded from the definition of a qualifying award, regardless of dollar value or the occasion. A paid trip for a top-performing crew, a restaurant gift certificate for a work anniversary, or a bonus check labeled a safety award all fall outside Section 274(j) entirely. None of these become tax-free by keeping the dollar amount small or by calling the payment an award instead of a bonus.
Why do gift cards never qualify, even for $10?
Gift cards never qualify because the IRS treats any cash equivalent, including gift cards and gift certificates redeemable for general merchandise, the same as cash itself under both Section 274(j) and the Section 132(a)(4) de minimis fringe benefit rules covered in 26 CFR Section 1.132-6. A $10 gift card, a $75 gift card, and a $1,600 gift card are all fully taxable wages the moment they are given, subject to federal income tax withholding and full FICA on both the employer and employee side. This is the single most common error Benecor finds when reviewing a client's recognition program, since gift cards feel like a simple, flexible reward but carry none of the tax advantage a physical item does under either exclusion.
Does a qualifying achievement award beat a Section 125 election on FICA?
Yes, and it goes a step further than most employer-paid benefits. A qualifying achievement award is excluded from federal income tax withholding, Social Security wages, Medicare wages, and FUTA wages, the same zero-FICA outcome a properly structured Section 125 election delivers, and the award is not reported anywhere on Form W-2 at all. That is a stronger position than the employer adoption assistance benefit under IRC Section 137, which excludes income tax but still sits fully inside the FICA wage base, per IRS Publication 15-B. An achievement award requires no salary-reduction election and no cafeteria plan document to get that treatment. It only requires the award to pass the tangible-property, dollar-limit, and eligibility tests built into Section 274(j).
| Benefit type | Reduces income tax wages? | Reduces FICA wages? | Employer FICA owed on $1,600 | Reported on Form W-2? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Section 125 medical or dependent care election | Yes | Yes | $0 (avoided) | Reflected in reduced Box 1, 3, and 5 |
| Qualifying achievement award, IRC Section 274(j) | Yes | Yes | $0 (avoided) | No, excluded entirely |
| Gift card labeled a length-of-service award | No | No | $122.40 (7.65% x $1,600) | Yes, fully taxable wages |
Worked example: the max $1,600 award still costs $0 in FICA
An employer gives an employee the full $1,600 under a written, nondiscriminatory qualified plan for a 15-year safety milestone, delivered as a set of engraved tools and a watch. The entire amount is excluded from Box 1 federal taxable wages, so the employee owes no federal income tax on it. Unlike the adoption assistance example covered in Benecor's adoption assistance guide, the Social Security and Medicare treatment is excluded too, so neither the employee nor the employer owes any of the standard 7.65% combined FICA rate on the $1,600. Had the same $1,600 been delivered as a gift card instead, the employer would owe $122.40 in FICA on top of full income tax withholding, and the employee would see the entire amount land as ordinary taxable wages on the next pay stub.
We used to hand out gift cards for every safety milestone because it felt easier than picking merchandise. Once payroll flagged that every card was fully taxable, we switched to a written plan with a real catalog of tangible items. Same recognition budget, zero FICA, and nobody's paycheck gets dinged for winning a safety award.
What are the rules for a length-of-service award?
A length-of-service award cannot be given to an employee during that employee's first 5 years of employment, and it cannot be given more often than once every 5 years after that, under Treasury Regulation Section 1.274-8. An employee who already received a length-of-service award in the current year or in any of the prior 4 years cannot receive another one tax-free during that window. A company that hands out a small tangible gift every single work anniversary, rather than at 5-year milestones, is giving taxable wages every year that falls outside the 5-year spacing rule, even if the item itself would otherwise qualify as tangible personal property.
What are the rules for a safety achievement award?
A safety achievement award is available only to full-time, non-management employees. Managers, administrators, clerical staff, and other professional employees are categorically excluded from receiving a tax-free safety award under the regulations, no matter how directly they contributed to a safety outcome. The award also fails the exclusion for everyone in the category once the employer has already given safety achievement awards to more than 10% of eligible employees during that tax year. A warehouse or manufacturing operator that wants to recognize an entire shift for a safety milestone needs to check that math before the presentation, not after payroll has already processed it as tax-free.
The 10% cap that resets each year, not per department
The 10% threshold applies to the full population of eligible employees at the employer, not to each department, shift, or facility separately. A 400-employee manufacturer with 250 eligible non-management, full-time workers can give no more than 25 tax-free safety achievement awards in a single tax year before every additional award in that category loses its tax-free status, even if the 26th award goes to a different plant than the first 25. The cap resets at the start of each new tax year, so an employer running an active safety recognition program needs a running count, not a one-time check.
What happens if an award does not meet these rules?
An award that fails any part of the Section 274(j) test, whether it is a gift card, a cash bonus, an award given too early, or a safety award given past the 10% threshold, is simply ordinary taxable wages. It goes through payroll with income tax withholding and full FICA on both sides, the same as any other compensation. There is no partial exclusion or reduced penalty. The employer's own deduction is also limited to $400 or $1,600 per employee depending on plan structure, and any amount above those caps is not deductible as an achievement award, though it may still be deductible as ordinary compensation expense.
How is a qualifying achievement award reported on Form W-2?
A qualifying achievement award that meets every Section 274(j) requirement is left out of Form W-2 entirely, with no entry in Box 1, Box 3, Box 5, or anywhere in Box 12, and it is not subject to federal income tax withholding, Social Security tax, Medicare tax, or FUTA. This is a cleaner outcome than the Code T entry required for adoption assistance, covered in Benecor's adoption assistance guide, since that benefit stays partly inside the wage base and needs its own disclosure line. An award that fails the test is reported the same way any other cash compensation is reported, included in Box 1, 3, and 5 with standard withholding applied.
Does Section 125 have anything to do with employee achievement awards?
No. Employee achievement awards under Section 274(j) are an employer-provided item, not an employee salary-reduction election, so they sit completely outside a Section 125 cafeteria plan and require no plan document or enrollment. An employer running a Section 125 plan for health, dental, and FSA benefits does not need to touch that plan document to add or remove a recognition program, since the two run on entirely separate parts of the tax code with no overlap. Nondiscrimination testing works the same way, a Section 274(j) plan uses its own average-cost and eligibility rules, distinct from the highly compensated employee test that governs cafeteria plan testing.
What are the most common employee achievement award payroll mistakes?
The most common mistake is defaulting to gift cards because they are easy to purchase and distribute, without realizing they fail the tangible-property test at any dollar amount and become fully taxable wages the moment they are handed out. The second is ignoring the 5-year spacing rule and giving small tangible gifts on every work anniversary instead of at genuine 5-year milestones, which turns an otherwise qualifying item into taxable wages simply because of timing. The third is losing track of the 10% safety award cap across multiple shifts or facilities, which can retroactively disqualify awards the employer believed were tax-free. Each mistake is avoidable with a written plan document and a running eligibility count checked before the ceremony, not caught during year-end W-2 reconciliation.
How should an employer set up a compliant achievement award program?
- Put the plan in writing. Define the tangible-property requirement, the $1,600 average-cost ceiling, and eligible award categories before the first award is purchased.
- Confirm every item is tangible personal property. Watches, luggage, electronics, and engraved plaques qualify. Gift cards, cash, and travel never do.
- Space length-of-service awards on a 5-year cycle. No award in an employee's first 5 years, and no repeat more often than once every 5 years.
- Track the 10% safety award cap. Count eligible full-time, non-management employees across the whole company, not per shift or facility.
- Keep the average award cost at or below $400 across the entire written plan to preserve the higher $1,600 individual limit.
- Exclude qualifying awards from every wage base. No entry in Box 1, 3, 5, or 12, and no federal income tax, FICA, or FUTA withholding.
Frequently asked questions
- Are employee achievement awards taxable?
- Only if they fail the IRC Section 274(j) rules. A qualifying tangible property award for length of service or safety achievement, worth up to $400 a year or $1,600 under a written qualified plan, is excluded from federal income tax, FICA, and Form W-2 entirely. An award that fails any part of the test is fully taxable wages with no partial exclusion.
- Can an employer give a gift card as a tax-free achievement award?
- No. The IRS treats gift cards and gift certificates as cash equivalents under both Section 274(j) and the Section 132(a)(4) de minimis fringe benefit rules. A gift card of any dollar amount given as a length-of-service or safety award is fully taxable wages, subject to income tax withholding and FICA on both the employer and employee side.
- How much can an employer give tax-free for an achievement award in 2026?
- Up to $400 a year per employee without a written plan, or up to $1,600 a year per employee under a written, nondiscriminatory qualified plan where the average cost of all awards given does not exceed $400. The combined cap applies even if an employee receives both a length-of-service and a safety award in the same year.
- Does a qualifying achievement award reduce FICA the way a Section 125 election does?
- Yes, and further than most employer-paid benefits. A qualifying achievement award is excluded from Social Security wages, Medicare wages, and FUTA wages entirely, the same zero-FICA result a Section 125 election delivers, and unlike some other fringe benefits, it is not reported anywhere on Form W-2.
- Who is eligible for a tax-free safety achievement award?
- Only full-time employees who are not managers, administrators, clerical staff, or other professional employees. The award also loses its tax-free status for the entire category once an employer has already given safety awards to more than 10% of eligible employees in that tax year.
- How often can an employee receive a length-of-service award?
- No more than once every 5 years, under Treasury Regulation Section 1.274-8. An award cannot be given during an employee's first 5 years of employment, and an employee who already received one in the current year or any of the prior 4 years cannot receive another tax-free length-of-service award during that window.
- What happens if an achievement award exceeds the dollar limit or fails the tangible-property test?
- The amount above $400, or above $1,600 under a qualified plan, becomes taxable wages, and an award that is not tangible personal property, such as cash or a gift card, is fully taxable at any dollar amount. There is no partial exclusion. The employer's own deduction is also limited to those same dollar caps per employee per year.
- Does Section 125 have anything to do with employee achievement awards?
- No. Employee achievement awards under Section 274(j) are an employer-provided item, not an employee salary-reduction election, so they sit entirely outside a Section 125 cafeteria plan and require no plan document, enrollment, or Section 125 nondiscrimination testing. The two benefits run on separate parts of the tax code with no overlap.
Continue reading
- Section 125 Cafeteria Plan: The Complete Employer Guide — Section 125 Plan
The pillar guide covering POP, FSA, DCAP, FICA recapture math, nondiscrimination testing, and the full implementation flow for any employer.
- Adoption Assistance Exclusion 2026: The $17,670 Rule Explained — Employee Benefits
Another employer-provided benefit under its own IRC section, but one that stays fully in the FICA wage base. See how the two rules pull in opposite directions.
- Highly Compensated Employee Definition 2026 — Employee Benefits
The income threshold that shapes nondiscrimination testing across achievement award plans, Section 125 elections, and other employer benefit programs.
About the author
Muhammad Mudassir — Co-founder & Health Tech Sales Lead
Muhammad Mudassir, who goes by Moe, is a co-founder and health technology operator focused on Section 125 cafeteria plans and zero-cost employer benefits. He has spent years getting employers enrolled in compliant cafeteria plans, onboarding nationwide workforces into the WoW Health and UnifyWell ecosystems, and translating the mechanics of FICA recapture into language that HR, finance, and ownership can act on.